perlhack: Add note to not use "register" declarations
authorKarl Williamson <public@khwilliamson.com>
Sun, 25 Nov 2012 03:59:39 +0000 (20:59 -0700)
committerKarl Williamson <public@khwilliamson.com>
Sun, 25 Nov 2012 04:45:21 +0000 (21:45 -0700)
pod/perlhack.pod

index f16f5b8..0385676 100644 (file)
@@ -381,6 +381,12 @@ extra paren, e.g. "if (a && (b = c)) ..."
 
 "if (!foo) ..." rather than "if (foo == FALSE) ..." etc.
 
+=item *
+
+Do not declare variables using "register".  It may be counterproductive
+with modern compilers, and is deprecated in C++, under which the Perl
+source is regularly compiled.
+
 =back
 
 =head3 Test suite