PATCH: [perl #134031] BBC breake Math::Clipper
authorKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Tue, 30 Apr 2019 00:46:51 +0000 (18:46 -0600)
committerKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Thu, 2 May 2019 02:45:22 +0000 (20:45 -0600)
This turns out to be that strtod() is less accurate on this platform
than atof().  I looked at the difference, and a test failed that was
failing in this module was the difference between a 0 and a 1 in the
final digit.

The solution is to forbid in the hints file using strtod

hints/freebsd.sh

index bf89069..696b468 100644 (file)
@@ -345,6 +345,10 @@ case "$cc" in
   ;;
 esac
 
+# This gives worse accuracy than atof() ! [perl #134031]
+d_strtod='undef'
+d_strtod_l='undef'
+
 case `uname -p` in
 arm|mips)
   ;;