Cleanup README.macosx
authorLeo Lapworth <leo@cuckoo.org>
Sun, 3 Apr 2011 07:48:14 +0000 (08:48 +0100)
committerFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Wed, 18 May 2011 23:30:59 +0000 (16:30 -0700)
- Direct people for README.macosx straight away
- Make synopsis copy shorter and clearer

README.macos

index ab01d90..ba7d78a 100644 (file)
@@ -8,15 +8,14 @@ README.macos - Perl under Mac OS (Classic)
 
 =head1 SYNOPSIS
 
-This document briefly describes perl under Mac OS (Classic).
-If you are running perl under Mac OS X, you don't want to be
-here (unless you are in the Classic environment under early versions of
-Mac OS X).
+For Mac OS X see README.macosx
+
+Perl under Mac OS Classic has not been supported since before Perl 5.10
+(April 2004).
 
 When we say "Mac OS" below, we mean Mac OS 7, 8, and 9, and I<not>
 Mac OS X.
 
-
 =head1 DESCRIPTION
 
 The port of Perl to to Mac OS was officially removed as of Perl 5.12,
@@ -24,11 +23,8 @@ though the last official production release of MacPerl corresponded to
 Perl 5.6. While Perl 5.10 included the port to Mac OS, ExtUtils::MakeMaker,
 a core part of Perl's module installation infrastructure officially dropped support for Mac OS in April 2004.
 
-Historical information (and working binaries of the last released version)
-are available from L<http://dev.macperl.org> as of October 2009.
-
 =head1 AUTHOR
 
-perl was ported to Mac OS by Matthias Neeracher
+Perl was ported to Mac OS by Matthias Neeracher
 E<lt>neeracher@mac.comE<gt>. Chris Nandor E<lt>pudge@pobox.comE<gt>
 continued development and maintenance for the duration of the port's life.