perl5160delta: New overloading bug fix section
authorFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Sat, 21 Apr 2012 05:57:32 +0000 (22:57 -0700)
committerFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Sat, 21 Apr 2012 06:09:58 +0000 (23:09 -0700)
Porting/perl5160delta.pod

index f77f1aa..d88c59d 100644 (file)
@@ -2772,6 +2772,28 @@ used to emit "uninitialized" warnings in cases like this:
 
 =back
 
+=head2 Overloading
+
+=over
+
+=item *
+
+Arithmetic assignment (C<$left += $right>) involving overloaded objects
+that rely on the 'nomethod' override no longer segfault when the left
+operand is not overloaded.
+
+=item *
+
+Errors that occur when methods cannot be found during overloading now
+mention the correct package name, as they did in 5.8.x, instead of
+erroneously mentioning the "overload" package, as they have since 5.10.0.
+
+=item *
+
+Undefining C<%overload::> no longer causes a crash.
+
+=back
+
 =head2 Other notable fixes
 
 =over
@@ -2925,12 +2947,6 @@ undefines the subroutine being "goneto" [perl #99850].
 
 =item *
 
-Arithmetic assignment (C<$left += $right>) involving overloaded objects
-that rely on the 'nomethod' override no longer segfault when the left
-operand is not overloaded.
-
-=item *
-
 Creating a C<UNIVERSAL::AUTOLOAD> sub no longer stops C<%+>, C<%-> and
 C<%!> from working some of the time [perl #105024].
 
@@ -3033,16 +3049,6 @@ the caller's scope (enabled by L<open.pm|open>) [perl #96008].
 
 =item *
 
-Errors that occur when methods cannot be found during overloading now
-mention the correct package name, as they did in 5.8.x, instead of
-erroneously mentioning the "overload" package, as they have since 5.10.0.
-
-=item *
-
-Undefining C<%overload::> no longer causes a crash.
-
-=item *
-
 C<our $::é; $é> (which is invalid) no longer produces the "Compilation
 error at lib/utf8_heavy.pl..." error message, which it started emitting in
 5.10.0 [perl #99984].