POSIX.pod: Mark cuserid() as obsolete
authorMatthias Bethke <matthias@towiski.de>
Sat, 6 Oct 2018 04:39:09 +0000 (22:39 -0600)
committerKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Sat, 6 Oct 2018 04:45:46 +0000 (22:45 -0600)
ext/POSIX/lib/POSIX.pod

index a319b0d..d60b411 100644 (file)
@@ -307,12 +307,15 @@ Generates the path name for the controlling terminal.
 This is identical to the C function C<ctime()> and equivalent
 to C<asctime(localtime(...))>, see L</asctime> and L</localtime>.
 
-=item C<cuserid>
+=item C<cuserid> [POSIX.1-1988]
 
 Get the login name of the owner of the current process.
 
        $name = POSIX::cuserid();
 
+Note: this function has not been specified by POSIX since 1990 and is included
+only for backwards compatibility. New code should use L<C<getlogin()>|perlfunc/getlogin> instead.
+
 =item C<difftime>
 
 This is identical to the C function C<difftime()>, for returning