(perl #131546) some notes on in-memory files for open()
authorTony Cook <tony@develop-help.com>
Mon, 12 Jun 2017 01:03:35 +0000 (11:03 +1000)
committerTony Cook <tony@develop-help.com>
Tue, 4 Jul 2017 05:20:09 +0000 (15:20 +1000)
pod/perlfunc.pod

index bb0383f..b1e4ac2 100644 (file)
@@ -4530,6 +4530,13 @@ To (re)open C<STDOUT> or C<STDERR> as an in-memory file, close it first:
     open(STDOUT, ">", \$variable)
        or die "Can't open STDOUT: $!";
 
+The scalars for in-memory files are treated as octet strings: unless
+the file is being opened with truncation the scalar may not contain
+any code points over 0xFF.
+
+Opening in-memory files I<can> fail for a variety of reasons.  As with
+any other C<open>, check the return value for success.
+
 See L<perliol> for detailed info on PerlIO.
 
 General examples: