Fix when( scalar ... ) bug
authorJosh ben Jore <jjore@cpan.org>
Wed, 23 Sep 2009 22:35:14 +0000 (15:35 -0700)
committerJosh ben Jore <jjore@cpan.org>
Mon, 28 Sep 2009 23:40:00 +0000 (16:40 -0700)
looks_like_bool should look past scalar(). Prior to this fix, saying
scalar() caused the when() argument to be /not/ a boolean even if it
reasonably was. Perhaps something like: when( scalar /$re/ ). I don't
know any natural way someone is doing to use when(scalar ...) but it
certainly seems like it was mistakenly left out.

op.c
t/op/switch.t

diff --git a/op.c b/op.c
index 729c25f..c3736fa 100644 (file)
--- a/op.c
+++ b/op.c
@@ -5194,6 +5194,10 @@ S_looks_like_bool(pTHX_ const OP *o)
                o->op_flags & OPf_KIDS
            && looks_like_bool(cUNOPo->op_first));
 
+        case OP_SCALAR:
+            return looks_like_bool(cUNOPo->op_first);
+
+
        case OP_ENTERSUB:
 
        case OP_NOT:    case OP_XOR:
index dcec866..80d6b98 100644 (file)
@@ -9,7 +9,7 @@ BEGIN {
 use strict;
 use warnings;
 
-plan tests => 127;
+plan tests => 128;
 
 # The behaviour of the feature pragma should be tested by lib/switch.t
 # using the tests in t/lib/switch/*. This file tests the behaviour of
@@ -413,6 +413,15 @@ sub check_outside1 { is($_, "outside", "\$_ lexically scoped") }
     is($ok, 'y', "Optimized-away comparison");
 }
 
+{
+    my $ok;
+    given(23) {
+        when (scalar 24) { $ok = 'n'; continue }
+        default { $ok = 'y' }
+    }
+    is($ok,'y','scalar()');
+}
+
 # File tests
 #  (How to be both thorough and portable? Pinch a few ideas
 #  from t/op/filetest.t. We err on the side of portability for