vars.pm: remove 'obsolete' description [perl #113974]
authorDavid Golden <dagolden@cpan.org>
Thu, 5 Jul 2012 23:58:28 +0000 (19:58 -0400)
committerDavid Golden <dagolden@cpan.org>
Fri, 6 Jul 2012 00:09:23 +0000 (20:09 -0400)
The phrase 'obsolete' in the abstract is not well defined
and may be inappropriate.  This commit removes it and clarifies
that use of vars.pm is discouraged when 'our' could be used
instead.

No perldelta note was added, as the change is trivial, despite
the version number bump.

lib/vars.pm

index 8ec107c..6ca6bb4 100644 (file)
@@ -2,7 +2,7 @@ package vars;
 
 use 5.006;
 
-our $VERSION = '1.02';
+our $VERSION = '1.03';
 
 use warnings::register;
 use strict qw(vars subs);
@@ -48,7 +48,7 @@ __END__
 
 =head1 NAME
 
-vars - Perl pragma to predeclare global variable names (obsolete)
+vars - Perl pragma to predeclare global variable names
 
 =head1 SYNOPSIS
 
@@ -56,9 +56,10 @@ vars - Perl pragma to predeclare global variable names (obsolete)
 
 =head1 DESCRIPTION
 
-NOTE: For variables in the current package, the functionality provided
-by this pragma has been superseded by C<our> declarations, available
-in Perl v5.6.0 or later.  See L<perlfunc/our>.
+NOTE: For use with variables in the current package for a single scope, the
+functionality provided by this pragma has been superseded by C<our>
+declarations, available in Perl v5.6.0 or later, and use of this pragma is
+discouraged.  See L<perlfunc/our>.
 
 This will predeclare all the variables whose names are 
 in the list, allowing you to use them under "use strict", and