docs (incl. perldelta) for aa8a2baafac
authorKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Wed, 6 Mar 2019 21:22:22 +0000 (14:22 -0700)
committerKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Wed, 6 Mar 2019 21:24:04 +0000 (14:24 -0700)
pod/perldelta.pod
pod/perllocale.pod

index 591b322..e29be4c 100644 (file)
@@ -34,6 +34,17 @@ For details, see L<https://www.unicode.org/versions/Unicode12.0.0/>.
 Because of a change in Unicode release cycles, Perl jumps from Unicode
 10.0 in Perl 5.28 to Unicode 12.0 in Perl 5.30.
 
+=head2 It is now possible to compile perl to always use thread-safe
+locale operations.
+
+Previously, these calls were only used when the perl was compiled to be
+multi-threaded.  To always enable them, add
+
+ -Accflags='-DUSE_THREAD_SAFE_LOCALE'
+
+to your F<Configure> flags.
+
+
 =head1 Security
 
 XXX Any security-related notices go here.  In particular, any security
index e2a73e8..df2db5c 100644 (file)
@@ -487,6 +487,13 @@ doesn't actually call the system C<setlocale>.  Instead those
 thread-safe operations are used to emulate the C<setlocale> function,
 but in a thread-safe manner.
 
+You can force the thread-safe locale operations to always be used (if
+available) by recompiling perl with
+
+ -Accflags='-DUSE_THREAD_SAFE_LOCALE'
+
+added to your call to F<Configure>.
+
 For further information about the categories, consult L<setlocale(3)>.
 
 =head2 Multi-threaded operation