perlre: Note that lookbehind is up to 255 chars
authorKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Sun, 30 Dec 2018 17:01:38 +0000 (10:01 -0700)
committerKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Sun, 30 Dec 2018 17:06:50 +0000 (10:06 -0700)
pod/perlre.pod

index 5329df2..8b2bfb9 100644 (file)
@@ -1627,7 +1627,7 @@ X<look-behind, positive> X<lookbehind, positive> X<\K>
 
 A zero-width positive lookbehind assertion.  For example, C</(?<=\t)\w+/>
 matches a word that follows a tab, without including the tab in C<$&>.
-Works only for fixed-width lookbehind.
+Works only for fixed-width lookbehind of up to 255 characters.
 
 There is a special form of this construct, called C<\K> (available since
 Perl 5.10.0), which causes the
@@ -1662,7 +1662,7 @@ X<look-behind, negative> X<lookbehind, negative>
 
 A zero-width negative lookbehind assertion.  For example C</(?<!bar)foo/>
 matches any occurrence of "foo" that does not follow "bar".  Works
-only for fixed-width lookbehind.
+only for fixed-width lookbehind of up to 255 characters.
 
 The alphabetic forms are experimental; using them yields a warning in the
 C<experimental::alpha_assertions> category.