factor out an %ENV assignment from make_ext.pl
authorDaniel Dragan <bulk88@hotmail.com>
Tue, 20 Jan 2015 06:25:26 +0000 (01:25 -0500)
committerTony Cook <tony@develop-help.com>
Mon, 20 Jul 2015 01:05:21 +0000 (11:05 +1000)
nytprof using full (not mini) Win32 perl reported 44 calls on line
"$ENV{PERL_CORE} = 1;" at 623 us spent on line for make_ext.pl --dynamic

Move the env var setting out from build_extension() to before the foreach
loop starts.

make_ext.pl

index 12926f8..1b055c3 100644 (file)
@@ -220,6 +220,7 @@ if ($Config{osname} eq 'catamount' and @extspec) {
     # Snowball's chance of building extensions.
     die "This is $Config{osname}, not building $extspec[0], sorry.\n";
 }
+$ENV{PERL_CORE} = 1;
 
 foreach my $spec (@extspec)  {
     my $mname = $spec;
@@ -271,7 +272,6 @@ sub build_extension {
     $perl ||= "$up/miniperl";
     my $return_dir = $up;
     my $lib_dir = "$up/lib";
-    $ENV{PERL_CORE} = 1;
 
     my ($makefile, $makefile_no_minus_f);
     if (IS_VMS) {