we want the git-describe of the requested item, not the current head.
authorYves Orton <demerphq@gemini.(none)>
Wed, 29 Jul 2009 22:36:49 +0000 (00:36 +0200)
committerDavid Mitchell <davem@iabyn.com>
Mon, 3 Aug 2009 21:05:16 +0000 (22:05 +0100)
(cherry picked from commit 11a595870adcd875f29635df8e4b9a2d22c36521)

Porting/GitUtils.pm

index 7abfe91..9ee6ca5 100755 (executable)
@@ -53,7 +53,7 @@ sub gen_dot_patch {
         s![~^].*\z!!;               # strip off how far we are from the item
     }
     my $tstamp= iso_time_with_dot(`git log -1 --pretty="format:%ct" $sha1`);
-    chomp(my $describe= `git describe`);
+    chomp(my $describe= `git describe $sha1`);
     join(" ", $branch, $tstamp, $sha1, $describe);
 }