Remove dead code from installperl, related to a 5.000->5.001 change.
authorNicholas Clark <nick@ccl4.org>
Wed, 25 Apr 2012 10:06:26 +0000 (12:06 +0200)
committerNicholas Clark <nick@ccl4.org>
Sat, 13 Jul 2013 10:01:36 +0000 (12:01 +0200)
5.000 installed autosplit files into archlib. 5.001 and later install into
privlib. archlib is earlier in @INC. It wasn't until 5.005 that perl put the
version number into the paths used for privlib and archlib, hence without
special treatment, the files installed by 5.001 would not be found, because
those from 5.000 would be earlier in @INC.

See commit a841533b5cf319b3 (Oct 2009) which removes similar special casing
code dealing with perldiag.pod confusion between 5.003 and 5.004

All this code became redundant when 5.005 added the version number to
library paths. (strictly, commit bfb7748a896459cc in Jul 1998)

installperl

index 60d392e..a3fc6f5 100755 (executable)
@@ -760,14 +760,6 @@ sub installlib {
     }
 
     if (-f $_) {
-       if (/\.(?:al|ix)$/ && !($dir =~ m[^auto/(.*)$])) {
-           $installlib = $installprivlib;
-           #We're installing *.al and *.ix files into $installprivlib,
-           #but we have to delete old *.al and *.ix files from the 5.000
-           #distribution:
-           #This might not work because $archname might have changed.
-           unlink("$installarchlib/$name");
-       }
        my $xname = "$installlib/$name";
        $xname =~ s/^\Q$opts{destdir}\E//;
        $packlist->{$xname} = { type => 'file' };