add 'regen' steps to the release_managers_guide
authorJesse Vincent <jesse@bestpractical.com>
Wed, 29 Jul 2009 22:03:35 +0000 (18:03 -0400)
committerDavid Mitchell <davem@iabyn.com>
Mon, 3 Aug 2009 21:06:00 +0000 (22:06 +0100)
(cherry picked from commit 55878aed38c1e1d1b71b3f10e7f6620fcc0158e8)

Porting/release_managers_guide.pod

index 2896716..b8324a1 100644 (file)
@@ -285,6 +285,22 @@ Once all version numbers have been bumped, re-run the checks.
 Then run again without the -x option, to check that dual-life modules are
 also sensible.
 
+=item *
+
+Check that files managed by F<regen.pl> and friends are up to date. From
+within your working directory:
+
+
+    $ git st
+    $ make regen
+    $ make regen_perly
+    $ git st
+
+If any of the files managed by regen.pl have changed, then you should commit
+the updated versions:
+
+    $ git commit -m 'Updated files generated by regen tools for perl 5.x.y' <list of files>
+
 
 =item *