Add an assert related to [perl #112370] memEQ off-by-one in Perl_regexec_flags()
authorYves Orton <demerphq@gmail.com>
Sun, 15 Apr 2012 09:22:29 +0000 (11:22 +0200)
committerYves Orton <demerphq@gmail.com>
Sun, 15 Apr 2012 09:34:09 +0000 (11:34 +0200)
This probably breaks tests under DEBUGGING, but it should also make this
codepath more robust to future changes. It seems to pass all tests.

Follow up patch fixes one cause of this assert being utilized.

regexec.c

index 8ccb6f7..3a4779d 100644 (file)
--- a/regexec.c
+++ b/regexec.c
@@ -2465,6 +2465,7 @@ Perl_regexec_flags(pTHX_ REGEXP * const rx, char *stringarg, register char *stre
                        last = strend;  /* matching "$" */
                }
            }
+           assert(last != NULL); /* the re_debug output below suggests we need this assert() */
            if (last == NULL) {
                DEBUG_EXECUTE_r(
                    PerlIO_printf(Perl_debug_log,