add parallel support 4 Win32 dmake-COREDIR parallelism part 2
authorDaniel Dragan <bulk88@hotmail.com>
Sat, 15 Aug 2015 09:24:06 +0000 (05:24 -0400)
committerTony Cook <tony@develop-help.com>
Mon, 7 Sep 2015 01:23:38 +0000 (11:23 +1000)
commitd89ea36076afa0a17a3faa7cb33a1c9c215a26eb
treedac12dde1541a47d941e178fa09ea5215178bb17
parent3bdc51af3f9be1ab22a176fefca16c329755b094
add parallel support 4 Win32 dmake-COREDIR parallelism part 2

-defer the mass copy of headers to COREDIR until XS build time
 and dont use COREDIR for building miniperl interp or perl interp, more
 thing to do in parallel this way and 1 less path to search by the CC
-config_h.PL requires config.h to be in COREDIR, this XCOPY in CONFIGPM
 targ is where COREDIR is created if it doesnt exist already
-remove a bunch of XCOPY'es, copy the headers in 1 place only, and dont
 copy them unless they change based on timestamps
-the DYNALOADER dep already contains
 "..\make_ext.pl ..\lib\buildcustomize.pl $(CONFIGPM) $(HAVE_COREDIR)" dont
 specify them again in Extensions and Extensions_reonly, this probably
 reduces the size of dep graph in dmake, since dmake explodes the graph and
 checks the outline of the graph/tree very inefficiently in parallel mode
 (architectural problem with dmake)
-delete pdb files in root, otherwise switching VC version will make the
 next cl.exe error out that it can't write to the pdb file due to version
 numbers in the pdb file
-reorder core .c files in a blend of VC and GCC time order, this reduces
 a 1:08 mins time to do "dmake -P9 ../perl522.dll" to 0:54 mins on 8 core
 with GCC, see details in #123867
pod/perldelta.pod
win32/makefile.mk