const the core magic vtables
authorDaniel Dragan <bulk88@hotmail.com>
Thu, 25 Dec 2014 19:43:14 +0000 (14:43 -0500)
committerFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Sat, 27 Dec 2014 01:32:59 +0000 (17:32 -0800)
commitc910fead7893fe9700031ee59de6b904260b5d69
treeb6a06535fa5b2c0d61eb437166da44661ce448ce
parent2683609f0d33a1a72182223e7262a7154087539b
const the core magic vtables

A remark in
http://www.nntp.perl.org/group/perl.perl5.porters/2006/07/msg115113.html
caused commit bc028b6b7f /
http://www.nntp.perl.org/group/perl.perl5.porters/2006/07/msg115116.html .
That remark is not true according to
http://www.nntp.perl.org/group/perl.perl5.porters/2006/07/msg115115.html
and
http://www.nntp.perl.org/group/perl.perl5.porters/2013/01/msg197318.html .
To save memory between perl processes, const the tables so the memory is
shared by the OS between perl processes.

b4 .rdata section of x64 VC 2008 miniperl 0x667EE bytes .data 0x3440 bytes
after .rdata 0x66FAE .data 0x2C80, 0x3440-0x2C80=0x7C0 saved,
based on the .data section size crossing a page boundary this saved 4K
of per process memory on Win64 miniperl.
perl.h