Use less memory in compiling regexes
authorKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Tue, 23 Feb 2016 21:04:19 +0000 (14:04 -0700)
committerKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Wed, 24 Feb 2016 06:59:31 +0000 (23:59 -0700)
commitaccb4364d92e26c20e6a538fc04d1af52a8b94e2
treeedf0a599fab750094017b7dd39a7a6aa8f35f020
parentf0c0c5adc5daeb0fbad1b23dca12ba5c46560a16
Use less memory in compiling regexes

This is at least a partial patch for [perl #127392], cutting the maximum
memory used on my box from around 8600kB to 7800kB.  For [perl #127568],
which has been merged into #127392, the savings are even larger, about
37%

Previously a large number of large mortal SVs could be created while
compiling a single regex pattern, and their accumulated memory quickly
added up.  This changes things to not use so many mortals.
embed.fnc
embed.h
proto.h
regcomp.c