optimize & rmv from public API Perl_tmps_grow and related code
authorDaniel Dragan <bulk88@hotmail.com>
Fri, 10 Oct 2014 17:29:33 +0000 (13:29 -0400)
committerFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Fri, 10 Oct 2014 21:30:21 +0000 (14:30 -0700)
commita953aca586d48d6f0b2c4db3572de328ed6d85e8
tree244c1608b1f36a40c1c0b27105586d1d19949f65
parentde183bbb2f50be045697c1759931907c5e7bdf28
optimize & rmv from public API Perl_tmps_grow and related code

Previously in PUSH_EXTEND_MORTAL__SV_C, "PL_tmps_ix + 1" would execute
twice, once for the nonmutable if(>=), then again after the potential
tmps_grow call. tmps_grow has an unused return register/void proto, put it
to use by returning ix.  Also change tmps_grow to take the result of
"PL_tmps_ix + the constant (usually 1) or non-constant (EXTEND_MORTAL)".
This avoid having to put the constant twice in machine code, once for the
if test, 2nd time for extend length param for tmps_grow call. For
non-constant/EXTEND_MORTAL usage, it allows the C optimizer to have the
length var to go out of liveness sooner if possible. Also the var used for
the if(>=) test is more likely to be in a register than length var.
So "if test variable" is closer on hand to the CPU than length var. In some
cases, if non-const len var isn't used again, it becomes the "ix" variable
by having PL_tmps_ix added to it. Change sv_2mortal to return sv instead
of NULL to remove a unique branch/block of machine code that assigns 0 to
return variable (Visual C didn't figure out return sv == returned NULL,
not sv). See also [perl #121845].
embed.fnc
embed.h
pod/perldelta.pod
pp.h
proto.h
scope.c
sv.c