Allow overriding the compile time in "perl -V" output
authorNiko Tyni <ntyni@debian.org>
Sun, 12 Jul 2015 19:23:00 +0000 (22:23 +0300)
committerTony Cook <tony@develop-help.com>
Mon, 2 Nov 2015 22:21:20 +0000 (09:21 +1100)
commit6baa8dbdfb8bc6c409778912cc3c8ea3dd39c342
tree7d9c3af1ebef611a818e9dcf562e82b52d0f5346
parentf24427ccd6154b1ab883b98e12381d005b311cb4
Allow overriding the compile time in "perl -V" output

The C preprocessor macros __DATE__ and __TIME__ embed the compile time
into the binary for the purposes of "perl -V" output. This makes the
build unreproducible: compiling the same source with the same toolchain
cannot be made to yield bitwise identical binaries and other generated
files.

The compile time can now be overridden with the PERL_BUILD_DATE macro.

Bug: https://rt.perl.org/Ticket/Display.html?id=125830
Bug-Debian: https://bugs.debian.org/774422
Patch-Name: debian/do-not-record-build-date.diff
perl.c