[perl #81032] Overhaul Porting/epigraphs.pod
authorZsbán Ambrus <ambrus@math.bme.hu>
Mon, 3 Jan 2011 04:25:55 +0000 (20:25 -0800)
committerFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Mon, 3 Jan 2011 04:28:00 +0000 (20:28 -0800)
commit2831a86cee065b53b74fd19ddcc6a4257484646d
treeacee31bb679487366c3f06c1d320e68963fba01a
parent79c932f0fc58fd4c6000b5c0d13b24ccd93b879b
[perl #81032] Overhaul Porting/epigraphs.pod

This patch makes multiple changes to Porting/epigraphs.pod and
pod/perlhist.pod.

For those that don't know, Porting/epigraphs.pod is a new document that
collects the quotes (chosen by Pumpkins) in perl release announcements.

The changes are the following.

1. Add a link pointing to each release announcement in the mailing
list archives.  These are from ysth's list, the source from which
Porting/epigraphs.pod was originally compiled, but they weren't in
Porting/epigraphs.pod so far.
2. Reorder Porting/epigraphs.pod chronologically, because I believe
that makes more sense -- pod/perlhist.pod is still sorted by version numbers.
3. Incidentally, some missing releases are added to pod/perlhist.pod too.
4. Fix a mistake where Porting/epigraphs.pod gives the wrong version number.
5. Add some epigraphs that appear in ysth's list but not in
Porting/epigraphs.pod.
6. I did some research in perl history before the part that ysth's list
covers, and added older perl announcements I found.  This work is not
complete: I stopped somewhere in 2000.
Porting/epigraphs.pod
pod/perlhist.pod