Adding support for Visual C's __declspec(noreturn) function declarations to perl
authorDaniel Dragan <bulk88@hotmail.com>
Mon, 16 Jul 2012 20:02:45 +0000 (16:02 -0400)
committerJan Dubois <jand@activestate.com>
Wed, 18 Jul 2012 22:30:30 +0000 (15:30 -0700)
commit12a2785c7e86f586a05cad9ff90ce673c68c3115
treeb1debe71307e649ac7b751f5e1feab5456896f7c
parent6db9054f2b5640f8df429d7daec73a0d5af01a8a
Adding support for Visual C's __declspec(noreturn) function declarations to perl

This will reduce the machine code size on Visual C Perl, by removing C stack
clean up opcodes and possible jmp opcodes after croak() and similar
functions.  Perl's existing __attribute__noreturn__ macro (and therefore
GCC's __attribute__((noreturn)) ) is fundamentally incompatible with MS's
implementation for noreturn functions. win32.h already has _MSC_VER
aware code blocks, so adding more isn't a problem.
perl.h
proto.h
regen/embed.pl
win32/win32.h