Net-Ping: creating an icmp socket requires admin access on recent cygwin
authorTony Cook <tony@develop-help.com>
Fri, 27 Jul 2012 13:47:05 +0000 (23:47 +1000)
committerTony Cook <tony@develop-help.com>
Thu, 2 Aug 2012 00:24:57 +0000 (10:24 +1000)
commit062ba7dfd67b859636d1e9e70162750d23c653b2
treef9cfff11a401bc22629cc2547e40368976f7955d
parent284474f99fc795c352234baaaa45687e0a291d66
Net-Ping: creating an icmp socket requires admin access on recent cygwin

on recent Windows.

cygwin on XP can create an icmp socket as a normal user but can't do
anything with it.  On Vista or Win7 the process must be running as
an admin to create the socket.

If someone sees value in running the test on cygwin on XP, they can
provide a patch.
dist/Net-Ping/t/110_icmp_inst.t