Updated perlfaq to CPAN version 5.0150040
[perl.git] / Porting / release_schedule.pod
1 =encoding utf8
2
3 =head1 STABLE RELEASE SCHEDULE
4
5 This schedule lists the projected or historical development and
6 release schedules for the next, current and previous stable versions
7 of Perl.  Dates with all question marks will only be releases if
8 deemed necessary by the Pumpking.
9
10 =head2 Perl 5.18
11
12 Code freezes (which happen in the 5.17.X series)
13
14   2013-01-20  5.17.8    Contentious changes freeze
15   2013-02-20  5.17.9    User-visible changes freeze
16   2013-03-20  5.17.10   Full code freeze
17
18 Release schedule (with release manager):
19
20   2013-04-??  5.18.0-RC0      Ricardo Signes
21   ...(interim RC releases)...
22   2013-05-18  5.18.0 (final)  Ricardo Signes
23
24 (RC0 will be released once we think that all the blockers have been
25 addressed.  This typically means some time in April or May.)
26
27 =head2 Perl 5.16
28
29 Release schedule (with release managers):
30
31   2012-05-20  5.16.0 ✓        Ricardo Signes
32   2012-06-??  5.16.1          Ricardo Signes
33   2012-09-14  5.16.2          ??
34   2013-0?-??  5.16.3          ??
35   ????-??-??  5.16.4          ??
36
37 =head2 Perl 5.14
38
39 Release schedule (with release managers):
40
41   2011-05-14  5.14.0 (final)  Jesse Vincent
42   2011-06-16  5.14.1 ✓        Jesse Vincent
43   2011-09-14  5.14.2 ✓        Florian Ragwitz
44   2012-0?-??  5.14.3          Ricardo Signes
45   ????-??-??  5.14.4          ??
46
47 =head1 DEVELOPMENT RELEASE SCHEDULE
48
49 This schedule lists the release engineers for at least the next
50 four months of releases of bleadperl. If there are fewer than
51 four months listed as you make a release, it's important
52 that you extend the schedule AND B<identify the next release engineer>.
53
54 Before adding a release engineer, you B<must> contact them and they
55 B<must> consent to ship the release.
56
57 When shipping a release, you should include the schedule for (at least)
58 the next four releases. If a stable version of Perl is released,
59 you should reset the version numbers to the next blead series.
60
61 =head2 Perl 5.17
62
63   2012-05-26  5.17.0          Zefram
64   2012-06-20  5.17.1          Jesse Luehrs
65   2012-07-20  5.17.2          Tony Cook
66   2012-08-20  5.17.3          Steve Hay
67   2012-09-20  5.17.4
68   2012-10-20  5.17.5          Max Maischein
69   2012-11-20  5.17.6
70   2012-12-20  5.17.7          Dave Rolsky
71   2013-01-20  5.17.8
72   2013-02-20  5.17.9
73   2013-03-20  5.17.10
74
75 =head1 VICTIMS
76
77 The following porters have all consented to do at least
78 one release of bleadperl.  If you can't do a release
79 and can't find a substitute amongst this list, mail p5p.
80
81 (Please do not add any names to this list without prior
82 consent of the Pumpking.)
83
84 Jesse Vincent <jesse@cpan.org>
85 Leon Brocard <acme@astray.com>
86 Yves Orton <demerphq@gmail.com>
87 Ricardo Signes <rjbs@cpan.org>
88 Steve Hay <steve.m.hay@googlemail.com>
89 Ask Bjørn Hansen <ask@perl.org>
90 David Golden <dagolden@cpan.org>
91 Philippe Bruhat <book@cpan.org>
92 Matt Trout <mst@shadowcat.co.uk>
93 Florian Ragwitz <rafl@debian.org>
94 Tatsuhiko Miyagawa <miyagawa@bulknews.net>
95 Chris Williams <bingos@cpan.org>
96 Zefram <zefram@fysh.org>
97 Ævar Arnfjörð Bjarmason <avar@cpan.org>
98 Stevan Little <stevan.little@iinteractive.com>
99 Dave Rolsky <autarch@urth.org>
100 Abigail <abigail@abigail.be>
101 Max Maischein <corion@cpan.org>
102 Dave Cross <dave@perlhacks.com>
103 Jesse Luehrs <doy@cpan.org>
104 Tony Cook <tony@develop-help.com>
105
106 =head1 AUTHOR
107
108 Jesse Vincent <jesse@cpan.org>
109
110 =cut