Tick release schedule
[perl.git] / Porting / release_schedule.pod
1 =encoding utf8
2
3 =head1 NAME
4
5 release_schedule - Perl 5 release schedule
6
7 =head1 STABLE RELEASE SCHEDULE
8
9 This schedule lists the projected or historical development and
10 release schedules for the next, current and previous stable versions
11 of Perl.  Dates with two or more question marks will only be releases if
12 deemed necessary by the Pumpking.
13
14 =head2 Perl 5.30
15
16 Code freezes (which happen in the 5.29.X series)
17
18   2019-02-20  5.29.8          Contentious changes freeze
19   2019-03-20  5.29.9          User-visible changes to correctly
20                               functioning programs freeze
21   2019-04-20  5.29.10         Full code freeze
22   2019-05-20  5.30.0          Stable release!
23
24 =head2 Perl 5.28
25
26   2018-05-20  5.28.0 ✓        Sawyer X
27   2018-11-29  5.28.1 ✓        Steve Hay
28
29 =head2 Perl 5.26
30
31   2017-05-30  5.26.0 ✓        Sawyer X
32   2017-09-22  5.26.1 ✓        Steve Hay
33   2018-04-14  5.26.2 ✓        Steve Hay
34   2018-11-29  5.26.3 ✓        Steve Hay
35
36 =head1 DEVELOPMENT RELEASE SCHEDULE
37
38 This schedule lists the release engineers for at least the next
39 four months of releases of bleadperl. If there are fewer than
40 four months listed as you make a release, it's important
41 that you extend the schedule AND B<identify the next release engineer>.
42
43 Before adding a release engineer, you B<must> contact them and they
44 B<must> consent to ship the release.
45
46 When shipping a release, you should include the schedule for (at least)
47 the next four releases. If a stable version of Perl is released,
48 you should reset the version numbers to the next blead series.
49
50 =head2 Perl 5.29
51
52   2018-06-26  5.29.0 ✓        Sawyer X
53   2018-07-20  5.29.1 ✓        Steve Hay
54   2018-08-20  5.29.2 ✓        Chris BinGOs Williams
55   2018-09-20  5.29.3 ✓        John Anderson (genehack)
56   2018-10-20  5.29.4 ✓        Aaron Crane
57   2018-11-20  5.29.5 ✓        Karen Etheridge (ether)
58   2018-12-18  5.29.6 ✓        Abigail
59   2019-01-20  5.29.7          Abigail
60   2019-02-20  5.29.8
61   2019-03-20  5.29.9          Zak B. Elep
62   2019-04-20  5.29.10
63
64 (RC0 for 5.30.0 will be released once we think that all the blockers have been
65 addressed.  This typically means some time in April or May.)
66
67 =head1 VICTIMS
68
69 The following porters have all consented to do at least
70 one release of bleadperl.  If you can't do a release
71 and can't find a substitute amongst this list, mail p5p.
72
73 (Please do not add any names to this list without prior
74 consent of the Pumpking.)
75
76   Abigail <abigail@abigail.be>
77   Aristotle Pagaltzis <pagaltzis@gmx.de>
78   Ask Bjørn Hansen <ask@perl.org>
79   Chris Williams <bingos@cpan.org>
80   Dave Cross <dave@perlhacks.com>
81   Dave Rolsky <autarch@urth.org>
82   David Golden <dagolden@cpan.org>
83   Florian Ragwitz <rafl@debian.org>
84   Jesse Luehrs <doy@cpan.org>
85   Jesse Vincent <jesse@cpan.org>
86   Leon Brocard <acme@astray.com>
87   Matt Trout <mst@shadowcat.co.uk>
88   Matthew Horsfall <wolfsage@gmail.com>
89   Max Maischein <corion@cpan.org>
90   Peter Martini <petercmartini@gmail.com>
91   Philippe Bruhat <book@cpan.org>
92   Ricardo Signes <rjbs@cpan.org>
93   Stevan Little <stevan@cpan.org>
94   Steve Hay <steve.m.hay@googlemail.com>
95   Tatsuhiko Miyagawa <miyagawa@bulknews.net>
96   Tony Cook <tony@develop-help.com>
97   Yves Orton <demerphq@gmail.com>
98   Zefram <zefram@fysh.org>
99   Ævar Arnfjörð Bjarmason <avar@cpan.org>
100
101 =head1 AUTHOR
102
103 Jesse Vincent <jesse@cpan.org>
104
105 =cut