final commit for v5.24.0!
[perl.git] / Porting / release_schedule.pod
1 =encoding utf8
2
3 =head1 NAME
4
5 release_schedule - Perl 5 release schedule
6
7 =head1 STABLE RELEASE SCHEDULE
8
9 This schedule lists the projected or historical development and
10 release schedules for the next, current and previous stable versions
11 of Perl.  Dates with two or more question marks will only be releases if
12 deemed necessary by the Pumpking.
13
14 =head2 Perl 5.24
15
16 Code freezes (which happen in the 5.23.X series)
17
18   2016-01-20  5.23.7 ✓        Contentious changes freeze
19   2016-02-20  5.23.8 ✓        User-visible changes freeze
20   2016-03-20  5.23.9 ✓        Full code freeze
21   2016-05-20  5.24.0          Stable release!
22
23 =head2 Perl 5.22
24
25   2015-06-01  5.22.0 ✓        Ricardo Signes
26   2015-12-13  5.22.1 ✓        Steve Hay
27   2016-04-29  5.22.2 ✓        Steve Hay
28   2016-??-??  5.22.3          ??
29
30 =head2 Perl 5.20
31
32   2014-05-27  5.20.0 ✓        Ricardo Signes
33   2014-09-14  5.20.1 ✓        Steve Hay
34   2015-02-14  5.20.2 ✓        Steve Hay
35   2015-09-12  5.20.3 ✓        Steve Hay
36   2016-??-??  5.20.4          ??
37
38 =head1 DEVELOPMENT RELEASE SCHEDULE
39
40 This schedule lists the release engineers for at least the next
41 four months of releases of bleadperl. If there are fewer than
42 four months listed as you make a release, it's important
43 that you extend the schedule AND B<identify the next release engineer>.
44
45 Before adding a release engineer, you B<must> contact them and they
46 B<must> consent to ship the release.
47
48 When shipping a release, you should include the schedule for (at least)
49 the next four releases. If a stable version of Perl is released,
50 you should reset the version numbers to the next blead series.
51
52 =head2 Perl 5.23
53
54   2015-06-20  5.23.0 ✓        Ricardo Signes
55   2015-07-20  5.23.1 ✓        Matthew Horsfall
56   2015-08-20  5.23.2 ✓        Matthew Horsfall
57   2015-09-20  5.23.3 ✓        Peter Martini
58   2015-10-20  5.23.4 ✓        Steve Hay
59   2015-11-20  5.23.5 ✓        Abigail
60   2015-12-20  5.23.6 ✓        David Golden
61   2016-01-20  5.23.7 ✓        Stevan Little
62   2016-02-20  5.23.8 ✓        Sawyer X
63   2016-03-20  5.23.9 ✓        Abigail
64
65 (RC0 for 5.24.0 will be released once we think that all the blockers have been
66 addressed.  This typically means some time in April or May.)
67
68 =head2 Perl 5.25
69
70   2016-05-20  5.25.0          Ricardo Signes
71   2016-06-20  5.25.1          Matthew Horsfall
72   2016-07-20  5.25.2          Steve Hay
73   2016-08-20  5.25.3          BinGOs
74   2016-09-20  5.25.4          Stevan Little
75   2016-10-20  5.25.5          Sawyer X
76   2016-11-20  5.25.6          ?
77   2016-12-20  5.25.7          ?
78
79 (RC0 for 5.24.0 will be released once we think that all the blockers have been
80 addressed.  This typically means some time in April or May.)
81
82 =head1 VICTIMS
83
84 The following porters have all consented to do at least
85 one release of bleadperl.  If you can't do a release
86 and can't find a substitute amongst this list, mail p5p.
87
88 (Please do not add any names to this list without prior
89 consent of the Pumpking.)
90
91   Abigail <abigail@abigail.be>
92   Aristotle Pagaltzis <pagaltzis@gmx.de>
93   Ask Bjørn Hansen <ask@perl.org>
94   Chris Williams <bingos@cpan.org>
95   Dave Cross <dave@perlhacks.com>
96   Dave Rolsky <autarch@urth.org>
97   David Golden <dagolden@cpan.org>
98   Florian Ragwitz <rafl@debian.org>
99   Jesse Luehrs <doy@cpan.org>
100   Jesse Vincent <jesse@cpan.org>
101   Leon Brocard <acme@astray.com>
102   Matt Trout <mst@shadowcat.co.uk>
103   Matthew Horsfall <wolfsage@gmail.com>
104   Max Maischein <corion@cpan.org>
105   Peter Martini <petercmartini@gmail.com>
106   Philippe Bruhat <book@cpan.org>
107   Ricardo Signes <rjbs@cpan.org>
108   Stevan Little <stevan@cpan.org>
109   Steve Hay <steve.m.hay@googlemail.com>
110   Tatsuhiko Miyagawa <miyagawa@bulknews.net>
111   Tony Cook <tony@develop-help.com>
112   Yves Orton <demerphq@gmail.com>
113   Zefram <zefram@fysh.org>
114   Ævar Arnfjörð Bjarmason <avar@cpan.org>
115
116 =head1 AUTHOR
117
118 Jesse Vincent <jesse@cpan.org>
119
120 =cut