Tick release schedule
[perl.git] / Porting / release_schedule.pod
1 =encoding utf8
2
3 =head1 NAME
4
5 release_schedule - Perl 5 release schedule
6
7 =head1 STABLE RELEASE SCHEDULE
8
9 This schedule lists the projected or historical development and
10 release schedules for the next, current and previous stable versions
11 of Perl.  Dates with two or more question marks will only be releases if
12 deemed necessary by the Pumpking.
13
14 =head2 Perl 5.28
15
16 Code freezes (which happen in the 5.27.X series)
17
18   2018-01-20  5.27.8          Contentious changes freeze
19   2018-02-20  5.27.9          User-visible changes to correctly
20                               functioning programs freeze
21   2018-03-20  5.27.10         Full code freeze
22   2018-04-20  5.28.0          Stable release!
23
24 =head2 Perl 5.26
25
26   2017-05-30  5.26.0 ✓        Sawyer X
27   2017-09-22  5.26.1 ✓        Steve Hay
28
29 =head2 Perl 5.24
30
31   2016-05-09  5.24.0 ✓        Ricardo Signes
32   2017-01-14  5.24.1 ✓        Steve Hay
33   2017-07-15  5.24.2 ✓        Steve Hay
34   2017-09-22  5.24.3 ✓        Steve Hay
35
36 =head2 Perl 5.22
37
38   2015-06-01  5.22.0 ✓        Ricardo Signes
39   2015-12-13  5.22.1 ✓        Steve Hay
40   2016-04-29  5.22.2 ✓        Steve Hay
41   2017-01-14  5.22.3 ✓        Steve Hay
42   2017-07-15  5.22.4 ✓        Steve Hay
43
44 =head1 DEVELOPMENT RELEASE SCHEDULE
45
46 This schedule lists the release engineers for at least the next
47 four months of releases of bleadperl. If there are fewer than
48 four months listed as you make a release, it's important
49 that you extend the schedule AND B<identify the next release engineer>.
50
51 Before adding a release engineer, you B<must> contact them and they
52 B<must> consent to ship the release.
53
54 When shipping a release, you should include the schedule for (at least)
55 the next four releases. If a stable version of Perl is released,
56 you should reset the version numbers to the next blead series.
57
58 =head2 Perl 5.27
59
60   2017-05-31  5.27.0 ✓        Sawyer X
61   2017-06-20  5.27.1 ✓        Eric Herman
62   2017-07-20  5.27.2 ✓        Aaron Crane
63   2017-08-20  5.27.3 ✓        Matthew Horsfall
64   2017-09-20  5.27.4 ✓        John Anderson
65   2017-10-20  5.27.5 ✓        Steve Hay
66   2017-11-20  5.27.6 ✓        Karen Etheridge
67   2017-12-20  5.27.7 ✓        BinGOs
68   2018-01-20  5.27.8 ✓        Abigail
69   2018-02-20  5.27.9          Renee Backer
70   2018-03-20  5.27.10         Todd Rinaldo
71
72 (RC0 for 5.28.0 will be released once we think that all the blockers have been
73 addressed.  This typically means some time in April or May.)
74
75 =head1 VICTIMS
76
77 The following porters have all consented to do at least
78 one release of bleadperl.  If you can't do a release
79 and can't find a substitute amongst this list, mail p5p.
80
81 (Please do not add any names to this list without prior
82 consent of the Pumpking.)
83
84   Abigail <abigail@abigail.be>
85   Aristotle Pagaltzis <pagaltzis@gmx.de>
86   Ask Bjørn Hansen <ask@perl.org>
87   Chris Williams <bingos@cpan.org>
88   Dave Cross <dave@perlhacks.com>
89   Dave Rolsky <autarch@urth.org>
90   David Golden <dagolden@cpan.org>
91   Florian Ragwitz <rafl@debian.org>
92   Jesse Luehrs <doy@cpan.org>
93   Jesse Vincent <jesse@cpan.org>
94   Leon Brocard <acme@astray.com>
95   Matt Trout <mst@shadowcat.co.uk>
96   Matthew Horsfall <wolfsage@gmail.com>
97   Max Maischein <corion@cpan.org>
98   Peter Martini <petercmartini@gmail.com>
99   Philippe Bruhat <book@cpan.org>
100   Ricardo Signes <rjbs@cpan.org>
101   Stevan Little <stevan@cpan.org>
102   Steve Hay <steve.m.hay@googlemail.com>
103   Tatsuhiko Miyagawa <miyagawa@bulknews.net>
104   Tony Cook <tony@develop-help.com>
105   Yves Orton <demerphq@gmail.com>
106   Zefram <zefram@fysh.org>
107   Ævar Arnfjörð Bjarmason <avar@cpan.org>
108
109 =head1 AUTHOR
110
111 Jesse Vincent <jesse@cpan.org>
112
113 =cut