This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Clarify policy on updates to Configure
authorDominic Hargreaves <dom@earth.li>
Fri, 13 Oct 2017 13:57:21 +0000 (15:57 +0200)
committerDominic Hargreaves <dom@earth.li>
Fri, 13 Oct 2017 14:11:25 +0000 (16:11 +0200)
U/modified/Head.U

index dd789f8..4f24cf1 100644 (file)
 ?X:
 # Note: this Configure script was generated automatically by the tool
 # called "metaconfig". Rather than working with this copy of Configure,
-# you may wish to get metaconfig. Perl uses a modified version of this
-# tool, available in the "dist" folder in the checkout of the git repo
+# you should use get metaconfig. Perl uses a modified version of this
+# tool, and this, together with the metaconfig units, are available
+# in the git repository:
 #    $ git clone https://github.com/perl5-metaconfig/metaconfig metaconfig
 # The original dist package (including metaconfig) is available on github:
 #    $ git clone https://github.com/rmanfredi/dist.git dist-git
 #
 ?X: OK, I'll not alter, but I'll add to it then ...
 # Though this script was generated by metaconfig from metaunits, it is
-# OK to send patches against Configure itself. It's up to the Configure
-# pumpkin to backport the patch to the metaunits if it is accepted.
-# For more information on patching Configure, see pod/perlhack.pod
-#
-# The metaunits are also available from the public github repository:
-#     https://github.com/perl5-metaconfig/metaconfig/tree/master/U
-#
-# See Porting/pumpkin.pod for more information on metaconfig.
+# OK to send patches against Configure itself (but not to commit them
+# to blead). It's up to
+# the Configure maintainers to backport the patch to the metaunits if it
+# is accepted. Exceptions to this rule, and more information, is in
+# Porting/pumpkin.pod.
 ?X:
 ?X: NOTA BENE:
 ?X: If you develop you own version of metaconfig based on this work,