utf8.h, utfebcdic.h: Add, fix comments
authorKarl Williamson <public@khwilliamson.com>
Thu, 7 Feb 2013 20:43:21 +0000 (13:43 -0700)
committerKarl Williamson <public@khwilliamson.com>
Fri, 15 Feb 2013 21:59:33 +0000 (14:59 -0700)
utf8.h
utfebcdic.h

index 27b877e..f990f37 100644 (file)
--- a/utf8.h
+++ b/utf8.h
@@ -1,5 +1,11 @@
 /*    utf8.h
  *
+ * This file contains definitions for use with the UTF-8 encoding.  It
+ * actually also works with the variant UTF-8 encoding called UTF-EBCDIC, and
+ * hides almost all of the differences between these from the caller.  In other
+ * words, someone should #include this file, and if the code is being compiled
+ * on an EBCDIC platform, things should mostly just work.
+ *
  *    Copyright (C) 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009,
  *    2010, 2011 by Larry Wall and others
  *
index 3e46ea5..5705b96 100644 (file)
@@ -541,8 +541,6 @@ END_EXTERN_C
         Unicode                             Bit pattern 1st Byte 2nd Byte 3rd Byte 4th Byte 5th Byte 6th Byte 7th byte
     U+0000..U+007F                     000000000xxxxxxx 0xxxxxxx
     U+0080..U+009F                     00000000100xxxxx 100xxxxx
-    U+00A0..U+00FF                     00000000yyyxxxxx 11000yyy 101xxxxx
-
     U+00A0..U+03FF                     000000yyyyyxxxxx 110yyyyy 101xxxxx
     U+0400..U+3FFF                     00zzzzyyyyyxxxxx 1110zzzz 101yyyyy 101xxxxx
     U+4000..U+3FFFF                 0wwwzzzzzyyyyyxxxxx 11110www 101zzzzz 101yyyyy 101xxxxx