regcomp.c: Fix up confusing comment
authorKarl Williamson <public@khwilliamson.com>
Mon, 30 Sep 2013 20:13:57 +0000 (14:13 -0600)
committerKarl Williamson <public@khwilliamson.com>
Mon, 30 Sep 2013 20:26:41 +0000 (14:26 -0600)
This was discussed as part of [perl #120041].

regcomp.c

index e876378..0ec6a76 100644 (file)
--- a/regcomp.c
+++ b/regcomp.c
@@ -825,8 +825,10 @@ S_ssc_anything(pTHX_ regnode_ssc *ssc)
 STATIC int
 S_ssc_is_anything(pTHX_ const regnode_ssc *ssc)
 {
-    /* Returns TRUE if the SSC 'ssc' can match the empty string or any code
-     * point */
+    /* Returns TRUE if the SSC 'ssc' can match the empty string and any code
+     * point; FALSE otherwise.  Thus, this is used to see if using 'ssc' buys
+     * us anything: if the function returns TRUE, 'ssc' hasn't been restricted
+     * in any way, so there's no point in using it */
 
     UV start, end;
     bool ret;