Benchmark iteration warnings should warn, not print
authorDavid Golden <dagolden@cpan.org>
Wed, 6 Feb 2013 03:23:37 +0000 (22:23 -0500)
committerDavid Golden <dagolden@cpan.org>
Wed, 6 Feb 2013 03:49:36 +0000 (22:49 -0500)
lib/Benchmark.pm
pod/perldelta.pod

index 8fc9799..728b0b9 100644 (file)
@@ -440,7 +440,7 @@ our(@ISA, @EXPORT, @EXPORT_OK, %EXPORT_TAGS, $VERSION);
              clearcache clearallcache disablecache enablecache);
 %EXPORT_TAGS=( all => [ @EXPORT, @EXPORT_OK ] ) ;
 
-$VERSION = 1.13;
+$VERSION = 1.14;
 
 # --- ':hireswallclock' special handling
 
@@ -836,7 +836,7 @@ sub timethis{
     # A conservative warning to spot very silly tests.
     # Don't assume that your benchmark is ok simply because
     # you don't get this warning!
-    print "            (warning: too few iterations for a reliable count)\n"
+    warn "            (warning: too few iterations for a reliable count)\n"
        if     $n < $Min_Count
            || ($t->real < 1 && $n < 1000)
            || $t->cpu_a < $Min_CPU;
index 012ff31..4473eee 100644 (file)
@@ -273,6 +273,13 @@ information only known to the C<perl> binary and not available via L<Config>.
 
 =item *
 
+L<Benchmark> has been upgraded from version 1.13 to 1.14.
+
+The "too few iterations" message is now a warning on STDERR
+instead of being output on STDOUT.
+
+=item *
+
 L<PerlIO::scalar> has been upgraded from version 0.15 to 0.16.
 
 The buffer scalar supplied may now only contain code pounts 0xFF or