Teach Configure about "procselfexe" on Solaris and NetBSD
authorNicholas Clark <nick@ccl4.org>
Tue, 27 Sep 2011 22:15:32 +0000 (00:15 +0200)
committerRicardo Signes <rjbs@cpan.org>
Wed, 21 Mar 2012 01:06:08 +0000 (21:06 -0400)
Configure would already find /proc/self/exe on NetBSD, where /proc/self is
a symlink to /proc/curproc. However, the revised probe avoids the extra
symlink traversal. Configure did not previously probe for the
relevant path on Solaris, /proc/self/path/a.out

Rename the description of /proc/curproc/file from BSD to FreeBSD, as it seems
that of the "big 3" BSDs, only FreeBSD uses this path.

Based on a patch from Johann 'Myrkraverk' Oskarsson.

Configure

index 48a3650..0bb5c4f 100755 (executable)
--- a/Configure
+++ b/Configure
@@ -16119,7 +16119,9 @@ procselfexe=''
 val="$undef"
 case "$d_readlink" in
     "$define")
-       set Linux /proc/self/exe BSD /proc/curproc/file
+       : NetBSD first as /proc/self is a symlink to /proc/curproc, and it feels
+       : more tidy to avoid an extra level of symlink
+       set NetBSD /proc/curproc/exe Linux /proc/self/exe FreeBSD /proc/curproc/file Solaris /proc/self/path/a.out
        while test $# -gt 0; do
            type=$1; try=$2
            shift; shift