disable use of nm on darwin
authorRicardo Signes <rjbs@cpan.org>
Wed, 6 Jul 2011 14:34:31 +0000 (10:34 -0400)
committerRicardo Signes <rjbs@cpan.org>
Thu, 11 Aug 2011 14:01:14 +0000 (10:01 -0400)
Testing from 10.5 with Xcode 3 to the latest OS X works with usenm='false' but
not always with usenm='true'
(cherry picked from commit 60a655a1ee05c577268377c1135ffabc34dbff43)

hints/darwin.sh

index 6cb9bd1..8148880 100644 (file)
@@ -68,8 +68,10 @@ esac
 # Since we can build fat, the archname doesn't need the processor type
 archname='darwin';
 
-# nm works.
-usenm='true';
+# nm isn't known to work after Snow Leopard and XCode 4; testing with OS X 10.5
+# and Xcode 3 shows a working nm, but pretending it doesn't work produces no
+# problems.
+usenm='false';
 
 case "$optimize" in
 '')