better POD for unpackstring
authorDaniel Dragan <bulk88@hotmail.com>
Sun, 13 Jan 2013 02:02:33 +0000 (21:02 -0500)
committerSteffen Mueller <smueller@cpan.org>
Sun, 13 Jan 2013 09:41:50 +0000 (10:41 +0100)
Someone asked me how to use unpackstring() since they couldn't figure it
out from the docs, so I added some things.

pp_pack.c

index 50d4a63..cc1e637 100644 (file)
--- a/pp_pack.c
+++ b/pp_pack.c
@@ -1190,8 +1190,10 @@ first_symbol(const char *pat, const char *patend) {
 =for apidoc unpackstring
 
 The engine implementing unpack() Perl function. C<unpackstring> puts the
-extracted list items on the stack and returns the number of elements.
+extracted list items on the @_ stack and returns the number of elements.
 Issue C<PUTBACK> before and C<SPAGAIN> after the call to this function.
+Unlike L</call_pv>, do not do a C<PUSHMARK>. This function takes no parameters
+on the @_ stack.
 
 =cut */