If PERL_NO_INLINE_FUNCTIONS is defined, don't include "inline.h"
authorNicholas Clark <nick@ccl4.org>
Fri, 26 Apr 2013 10:18:41 +0000 (12:18 +0200)
committerNicholas Clark <nick@ccl4.org>
Fri, 3 May 2013 11:35:15 +0000 (13:35 +0200)
commitc7627e6d4346964cad693419f41c942591ebaf35
treed065cc489af9e206f6352aa6a089c4824f574c0e
parent4f650b80ec9c5c9641951c5c41c2a5ac37012b7d
If PERL_NO_INLINE_FUNCTIONS is defined, don't include "inline.h"

This permits test code to include the perl headers for definitions without
creating a link dependency on the perl library (which may not exist yet).

Some of the static inline functions in inline.h reference functions in the
perl object files, and some compilers aren't smart enough to eliminate
unused static inline functions, hence including the inline.h in probe code
can cause link errors even though the probe code uses none of the functions
it declares. When probing, a failed link is taken as meaning that the
probed-for function is not present, as the assumption is that the link fails
because of it. Hence other causes of link failures cause the probing code to
generate incorrect results, and action (and bugs) at a distance.
cflags.SH
cpan/Time-HiRes/Makefile.PL
perl.h