document the limitations of protocol(), sockdomain(), socktype()
authorTony Cook <tony@develop-help.com>
Fri, 22 Jun 2012 10:25:06 +0000 (20:25 +1000)
committerTony Cook <tony@develop-help.com>
Mon, 2 Jul 2012 08:46:44 +0000 (18:46 +1000)
commit99e17eca674d27fda4436f61bab067328689ed8c
tree0db04f2797ee42767c0b7f8a759b010b084c2b62
parentdafec47dd840b2ba2153af4b21e710f71b9ba467
document the limitations of protocol(), sockdomain(), socktype()

Determining these for a new_from_fd() socket has the following problems:

protocol() depends on SO_PROTOCOL, and socktype() on SO_TYPE, not
implemented on all systems.

sockdomain() depends on sockname(), which is documented as
unimplemented for AF_UNIX sockets on HP-UX.

I'm not sure that detail is useful in the documentation.
dist/IO/lib/IO/Socket.pm