[perl #119051] Fix crash with \&$glob_copy
authorFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Sun, 28 Jul 2013 19:35:47 +0000 (12:35 -0700)
committerFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Sun, 28 Jul 2013 19:45:50 +0000 (12:45 -0700)
commit2f222bbdd2d6da605708c3ab620ac25c62481179
treeb640f418b883e1c72f85fe763f5b31d86e61dd13
parente82485c19c70d922047c43d035a5e59a7c08ce67
[perl #119051] Fix crash with \&$glob_copy

$ref = *Foo::nosub;
\&$ref;

The assignment creates a glob copy (coercible glob; one that down-
grades back to a simple scalar when assigned to).

\&$ref autovivifies a stub in that glob.  The CvGV pointer ends up
pointing to $ref, rather than *Foo::nosub.  $ref can easily cease
being a glob.  So crashes happen.

Stub autovivification used to stringify the glob, look it up again by
name, and then vivify the stub in the glob.

In commit 186a5ba82d584 I removed what seemed like a waste of CPU
cycles, but apparently it served some purpose.  The lookup caused CvGV
to point to *Foo::nosub, rather than $x.

This commit restores the stringfy-and-lookup if the glob is coercible
(SvFAKE).  It goes a little further and turns off the SvFAKE flag if
the glob just looked up is also FAKE.

It turns out this bug is old, and has been triggerable via glob copies
in stash elements for a long time.  186a5ba82d584 made it easier to
trigger the bug (so it is a regression from 5.16).
op.c
t/op/gv.t